A design methodology where creativity and innovation are reflected in collective intelligence

Integrating design in the early sessions of conception avoids reducing its effect to a final surface treatment and allows it to be really creative.

Our method is based on the idea that the opening out and the blending of business cultures are potential participatory design sessions. Creativity is born of dialogue between the different stakeholders: the business expert, the engineer, the marketer, the designer and, of course, the user. For the user is obviously at the centre of the design process. Questioning should revolve around user context and user issues.

Schéma - design et usager

The designer designs "with". Assembling a team of actors around a table offers a rich potential for creativity, essential for good co-design. The designer becomes a mediator between several disciplines. In turn, he listens, provokes discussion and synthesizes ideas, points out inconsistencies and puts forward design ideas. Thanks to many design tools (wall board communication, sketching, paper mock-ups, storyboard etc), he pushes towards collective inspiration and innovation. Throughout the sessions, the team defines the interface contours and specifies its content by the multiple uses of flexible and accurate design aids. This method gives great agility for meeting existing challenges while anticipating future ones.

Digital uses

The user surrounded by more and more complex real or virtual objects becomes in turn demanding, seduced or impatient. Our relationship with machines evolves and raises the issue of use.

It is not so much a question of designing interfaces but that of thinking about usage.

There is no single way to achieve a goal: everyone will do it in their own way with the level of affinity he has developed for the tool at his disposal. If the design takes into account this reality, then it becomes closely interested in the user, his culture and environment. It offers different ways to use the interface - explicit or implicit interactions. It is never put off by inappropriate choices and leaves room for combination, customization, or even misappropriation!

Ad hoc creativity

The designer likes to play. He tries everything, builds relationships, is not afraid to invent inconsistencies, transpose or misappropriate uses, envisage smart users. In a world transformed by new technologies, the designer is the first person concerned in associating opportunities, devising new approaches and outlining shapes. Our business is naturally interdisciplinary and multi-domain, allowing us to compare the successes and failures of one another. Without knowing it the issues are sometimes very similar. It is thanks to breaking down the barriers between various spheres of application and to our ability to bridge past and future that our creativity is constructive and constantly stimulated.

Schema - design
Schema - design and product

The aesthetics of an object - the emotion factor

Far from being anecdotal, aesthetics defines the very identity of an artefact. It is through its appearance that the artefact will exist in the eyes of the user. It is its form that will make it intuitive, its colours that will give it meaning. Nothing is left to chance, every detail is thought out in terms of overall consistency taking account of a universal code and personal aesthetics. Our design seeks to go beyond a functional interface; wanting to make it expressive so that the user can appreciate it.

Une méthodologie de conception où la créativité et l’innovation s’expriment dans une intelligence collective

Intégrer le design dès les premières séances de conception évite de réduire son intervention à un surfaçage final et lui permet réellement de faire œuvre de création.

Notre méthode repose sur l’idée que l’ouverture et le métissage des cultures métier constituent le potentiel des séances de conception participatives. La créativité naît alors du dialogue entre les différents acteurs : expert métier, ingénieur, marketeur, designer et bien sûr usager. Car l’usager est évidemment au centre de la conception. Les questionnements doivent graviter autour de son contexte et de ses problématiques d’usage.

Schéma - design et usager

Le designer conçoit « avec ». Réunir une équipe de différents acteurs autour d’une table offre un potentiel de créativité riche, indispensable à une bonne co-conception. Le designer devient médiateur entre plusieurs disciplines : tour à tour, il écoute, fait parler les uns et les autres, synthétise les idées, soulève les incohérences, propose des pistes de conception. Grâce à de nombreux outils de conception (wall communication, croquis, maquette papier, storyboard…), il favorise l’idéation et l’innovation collective. Au fil des séances, l’équipe définit les contours de l’interface, précise son contenu, par les multiples manipulations des supports de conception souples et précis. Cette méthode permet une grande agilité pour répondre à la fois aux défis présents tout en anticipant ceux à venir.

Usages numériques

L'usager entouré d'objets réels ou virtuels de plus en plus complexes est tour à tour exigeant, séduit ou impatient. Notre rapport aux machines évolue et se pose la problématique des usages.

Il ne s'agit pas tant de concevoir des interfaces que de penser les usages.

Il n'existe pas une seule façon d'atteindre un objectif : chacun peut le faire à sa manière avec le niveau d'affinité qu'il a développé pour l'outil à sa disposition. Si la conception tient compte de cette réalité, elle s'intéresse alors étroitement à l'usager, à sa culture et son environnement. Elle propose des façons différentes d'utiliser l'interface, des interactions explicites et implicites. Elle ne lasse pas par des choix inappropriés et laisse une place à la combinaison, la personnalisation, voire le détournement !

Créativité ad hoc

Le designer est joueur. Il essaye tout, tisse des liens, n’a pas peur d’inventer des incongruités, de transposer ou de détourner des usages, de penser les utilisateurs intelligents. Dans un monde transformé par les nouvelles technologies, le designer est le premier intéressé à associer des possibilités, imaginer de nouvelles approches et esquisser des formes. Comme notre activité est naturellement interdisciplinaire et multi-domaines, elle nous permet de croiser les réussites et les échecs des uns et des autres, dont les problématiques sont quelquefois très similaires sans qu’ils le soupçonnent. C’est grâce à ce décloisonnement des champs d’application et à notre capacité à tisser des liens entre passé et futur que notre créativité est propice et sans cesse stimulée.

Schéma - design et produit
Schéma - design et produit

L’esthétique d’un objet, facteur d’émotion

Loin d’être anecdotique, l’esthétique définit l’identité même d’un artefact. C’est à travers son apparence que l'artefact va exister aux yeux de l’utilisateur ; ce sont ses formes qui vont le rendre intuitif ; ce sont ses couleurs qui feront sens. Rien n’est laissé au hasard ; chaque détail est pensé dans une cohérence globale jouant à la fois sur les codifications universelles et sur une esthétique propre. Notre design cherche à aller au-delà de l’interface fonctionnelle ; il veut la rendre expressive afin que l’usager puisse l’apprécier.