Design in research

Design plays a critical role in the adoption of new technologies. This makes it a key player in research.

The other 2D

The radar image is always horizontal 2D; the ASTER project offers a vertical view for visualizing radar control images during airport approach.

icône publication
Scientific publications

This project gave rise to many scientific publications and opened up issues which are still currently under investigation.

Overview of the ASTER device

Dispositif et interface du logiciel ASTER

A view of the radar control interface

Gros plan de l'interface ASTER

Note taking during manual input

Écriture au stylet sur l'interface ASTER

Handling electronic strips with a stylus

Manipulation d'un strip sur l'interface ASTER

Genesis of ASTER project

In 2004 Intactile DESIGN and Intuilab created, on behalf of Sofréavia (Egis), the touch interface for Maestro D-MAN - decision support software for air traffic control. In 2006, Intactile DESIGN was awarded a Star by l'Observeur du design for the interface quality of this product. Its success proves to people within ATC (Air Traffic Control) that design can help solve very technical workplace problems.

Intactile DESIGN is also associated with the research project ANIMS (2004-06). The results prove scientifically that animation and interaction design increase the readability of HMI and therefore, by reducing margins of error, the reliability of the tools.

The precursor of the Maestro D-MAN is the electronic strip management tool Digistrip, designed by JL Vinot and his team at ENAC. In 2000, they carried out the research project VERTIDIGI on a vertical radar visualization tool for approach control.

The ASTER project has emerged from these tools and offers the mix of vertical viewing and electronic stripping.

Why use designers as part of a research project?

Based on our successes, which demonstrated the value of design at the centre of research, we were invited to work with teams at ENAC-DGAC on the ASTER project. The Intactile DESIGN approach is clear: our aim is to do research "with" design, that is to say equip research with collaborative and creative methods specific to design.

In the aviation community, it is not standard practice to integrate design at the development stage of the interface: engineers design systems; ergonomists measure their qualities and faults. This gives rise to an acceptable interface from an ergonomic point of view and robust from an IT perspective... but not one that is necessarily easy to use, or satisfactory graphically. Indeed, any envisaged optimization is mostly technical. More subtle and potentially richer solutions through graphic design, interaction design, or animation are not necessarily imagined.

However, in such a sensitive area as air traffic control, it would appear necessary that the tool be thought out in every detail. As will be seen, it is not easy, there being a great variety of inputs and very many levels of information.

The line of research given us is to aid anticipation. More specifically, this is to identify and design "objects" that, in the context of collaborative work and non-verbal communication, would help controllers anticipate traffic overload or underload.

Context of use

Air traffic control has a strong professional culture, where every gesture takes on a measure of responsibility. Each flight has to be dealt with case by case. Decisions taken by the controller in front of his tool, ranging from the urgency of certain situations to regulatory safety margins, are crucial. He is responsible for guiding all pilots from one airspace to another. He has to detect recurring patterns and unpredictable situations. These are common and should be dealt with before becoming dangerous.

Tour de contrôle, écran de contrôle aérien et tableau de strip

Control Tower | Strip boards | Annotated strips

Each air traffic control workstation is shared by two operators: the planning controller, who organizes flights in the early stages and prepares the work of the second operator. The latter, the tactical controller, is in radio communication with the pilots. Currently the workstation has a printer placed between the two operators which regularly prints out flight information on paper bands called strips.

Each of these strips is a flight. They are indispensable to the work of a controller. Throughout the monitoring of a flight, they will be annotated, crossed out, rearranged, replaced, moved, handed from one person to another and thrown out. This wealth of input is basic know-how for any air traffic controller.

Terminal areas feed one or more major airports. They are the interface between "arriving" sectors and "approaching" sectors. Planes enter these sectors cruising at great speed and at a high altitude. Speed must be reduced and the aircraft brought to an agreed flight level. They will then be transferred to the approach sector when they fly over a specific beacon. Aircraft must at the same time be staggered as a delay between flights is applied to allow runway capacity to absorb traffic.

Currently controllers leave the radar image and move to the strip chart in order to build a mental picture of the situation.

Methods to provide coherent interdisciplinary work

The design work was based on an in-depth analysis of the controllers’ work, which highlighted the main weaknesses of the current system and paved the way for suggestions for improvement. In ASTER, a touch screen was positioned to replace the current paper strip board - the most natural place for a manual input tool.

Given the importance of the vertical plane in the work of separating and resolving conflicts between aircraft, the ASTER project started from the idea of increasing the vertical display of traffic information carried on the electronic strips. However, as things progressed work on the strips became more and more important – to the extent that we could mask the vertical view in the final version. Electronic strips are then handled by a stylus and controllers can enter clearances and instructions directly onto these digital objects.

Once these fundamentals elements were laid down, the sketching and storyboard, both flexible and efficient tools, helped in laying out the interactions quickly.

The relevance of each interaction was then evaluated at co-design meetings and promising solutions were given successive run-throughs until their development – the duration of which was controlled in order to obtain a satisfactory result fast.

Storyboard

Images originating from ASTER storyboards

When passing from paper to digital, the real challenge was to increase interactivity and speed of data processing, but WITHOUT losing the freedom of action and rapid assimilation when using paper - to sum up, ensuring that the digital tool did not weaken the efficiency of gestures and practices. Another challenge was being able to anticipate a situation - what clues could interfaces give to indicate, for example, up and coming traffic overload (or underload)?

Working closely together, side by side, implies gestural code and non-verbal communication. For example, a controller can follow the progress of a task on the other's screen, and could even realize that the other is making ​​a mistake. It is because of this closeness that gestures are more collaborative. In ASTER, it is the potential interactions with strips that bring about this collaborative dimension – note taking and input gestures but also transmission gestures like throwing an object from one screen to another, or even dropping a strip directly from one screen to another! Storyboards as shown above illustrate, for example, different transmission capabilities.

Historique des Strips ASTER

The information carried by the Aster interface is numerous and should be clearly prioritized relative to each user. So we worked on the graphical consistency of the whole system, taking into account the sector’s culture and graphic codes used in its work environment. As ASTER is a research project, successive design versions were evaluated through experiment - different design points were refined on issues identified during a one-to-one with potential users using conditions close to a real time situation (control room).

The story of the strip design, as shown on the side, allows one to measure the many adjustments that were made to successive versions. You can see how the graphics structure the information better, so allowing greater clarity.

Focus on three design issues

In the ASTER project, the question of design quality is integrated into the research process. It became an optimisation parameter in the same way as the strength of IT functionality or the accuracy of data display.

Strip states

From the moment a flight enters the control area and the moment it leaves its digital strip will go through many states.

Flight entering terminal sector

Flight transferred from the previous sector, ready to be supported

Flight supported by the Planner Controller (PC)

Flight selected by the PC

Flight annotated and transferred by the PC

Flight transmitted in the shared zone, PC side

Flight transmitted in the shared zone, Tactical Controller (TC) side

Flight currently unsupported by the TC

Flight selected by the TC

Flight assumed by the TC, by radio communication

Flight transferred to the next area (approach)

Strip readability must be immediate and their design must indicate their status. Among many solutions, it was suggested that each workstation be matched to a colour: blue for the planning controller and brown for the tactical controller. Two colours which mark the strips "belonging" to one side or the other – and for which the controller is responsible. As shown above, other ways are used to indicate different states – the materiality of the graphics, the level of information content detail, the brightness, etc.

The wealth of entries

Preserving the freedom to use paper strips was crucial to the project’s acceptance by the professionals – and was an interesting testing ground for project scientists and ergonomists.

Digital strips are, of course, real-time informational access points about each flight but they also serve as input points. With a direct gestural interaction on a strip, the controller can enter clearance information (orders to pilots) complementary to radio communications.

ASTER does even better. Just like its paper ancestor, a digital strip can accept handwriting. With a simple gesture, the controller can switch the interface to "free input" mode and write, draw, cross out or underline information on the strips themselves or on notes – which they can then attach to visible aircraft in the background of the vertical radar view.

L'écriture dans l'interface ASTER

Types of input and feedback: user data via gesture, system data in gray, hand writing on strips or notes

A precise typographic code identifies each type of writing and indicates the author (planning controller, tactical controller, system) and its kind of information (order, hypothesis, proposal, forecast). The design was finally contained and its efficiency optimized within each technological field - no anti-aliasing, performance issues, or number of colours, etc.

Adapting the design at the time of integration

Design nurtured by the work culture

Our first instinct as designers was to provide a work space on a light background, corresponding to the aesthetics of paper and which would make it stand out from computer technology. But the actual observation of an air traffic controller carrying out his job showed us our mistake. In the control room, as in the cockpit, users keep their eyes fixed on the screen for hours - the overall brightness of the work space is very dim and that of the tools also.

Design de strips

Two iterations of the design

Imprimante physique et virtuelle de strips

The two printers, side by side, the analog one and the digital one

As always, with the handling of the tool in mind, the design of certain elements (the strip printer or the strips themselves) related to work objects in their analogue form (skeuomorphism). Conversely, items related to digital data, such as datalink information, or comets representing the position of the aircraft in radar view were dealt with in a more "immaterial" mode, which could be defined as flat design.

Conclusion: experiments and results

A series of experiments was conducted in real-time simulation with controllers at the Paris control centre. The principle ideas of vertical display and the touch screen for input were validated and the input times found to be in the same range as those measured with the paper strip.

This result, obtained without prior training, was very promising. Moreover, tests on conflict retention following simulations confirmed that the vertical view did not deteriorate the mental representation of the situation. Some results even corresponded to a better representation (reduction by a half in level clearances, a doubling of speed clearances.)

During the presentation at the ATC Maastricht 2007 show visiting controllers testing the tool took ten minutes to handle it before starting to manage simulated traffic and then in a short time actually began to invent uses.

By adopting a "post-WIMP" (Windows, Icons, Menus, Pointing device) perspective, ASTER allowed the controller to perform expert actions using direct interaction. In the context of managing change the acceptance of this new tool is great advantage. Also, the fact of reaching a level of interface quality – from both a usage and aesthetic point of view – equal to that of a product has generated a sense of comfort, security and confidence in the machine, and has paid off. This has only been possible thanks to close collaboration within the research team, through the concept features, the development and the design.

Linked projects

Du design en recherche

Le design joue un rôle essentiel dans l’adoption des nouvelles technologies. Il constitue en cela un acteur de recherche clé.

L’autre 2D

L’image radar est toujours en 2D horizontale ; le projet ASTER propose de visualiser les images radar de contrôle à l’approche des aéroports en vue verticale.

icône publication
Publications scientifiques

Ce projet a donné lieu à de nombreuses publications scientifiques et les pistes qu’il a ouvertes sont encore à l’étude actuellement.

Vue générale du dispositif ASTER

Dispositif et interface du logiciel ASTER

Vue de l'interface du contrôleur radariste

Gros plan de l'interface ASTER

Prise de notes en saisie manuelle

Écriture au stylet sur l'interface ASTER

Manipulation des strips électroniques au stylet

Manipulation d'un strip sur l'interface ASTER

Genèse du projet ASTER

En 2004, Intactile DESIGN et Intuilab créent, pour le compte de SofréAvia (Egis), l’interface tactile du Maestro D-MAN, un logiciel d'aide à la décision pour le contrôle aérien. En 2006, Intactile DESIGN se voit décerner une Étoile par l'Observeur du design pour la qualité de l'interface proposée pour ce produit. Son succès prouve aux acteurs du milieu de l’ATC (Air Traffic Control) que le design peut contribuer à résoudre des problématiques métier très techniques.

Intactile DESIGN est aussi associé au projet de recherche ANIMS (2004-06). Les résultats prouvent scientifiquement que les animations et le design d’interaction augmentent la lisibilité des IHM, et donc la fiabilité des outils en réduisant les marges d’erreur.

L’ancêtre du Maestro D-MAN est l’outil de gestion de strips électroniques DIGISTRIP, conçu par J.‑L. Vinot et son équipe de l’ENAC. En 2000, ces derniers mènent à bien le projet de recherche VERTIDIGI, portant sur un outil de visualisation radar verticale pour le contrôle d’approche.

Le projet ASTER naît de ces outils et propose de mêler visualisation verticale et stripping électronique.

Pourquoi faire appel à des designers
dans le cadre d’un projet de recherche ?

Forts de nos succès, qui ont montré l’intérêt du design au sein de la recherche, nous sommes conviés à travailler avec les équipes de l’ENAC-DGAC sur le projet ASTER. L’approche d’Intactile DESIGN est claire : notre but est de faire de la recherche "par" le design, c’est-à-dire outiller la recherche avec les méthodes créatives collaboratives propres au design.

Dans le milieu de l’aéronautique, il n’est pas courant d’intégrer le design lors de l’élaboration des interfaces : les ingénieurs conçoivent des systèmes, les ergonomes mesurent leurs qualités et leurs dysfonctionnements, puis donnent naissance à des interfaces correctes d’un point de vue ergonomique et robustes d’un point de vue informatique… mais pas nécessairement simples d’usage, ni graphiquement satisfaisantes. En effet, les optimisations envisagées sont le plus souvent techniques : des solutions plus subtiles et potentiellement plus riches, passant par le graphisme, le design d’interaction, ou l’animation, ne sont pas forcément imaginées.

Dans un domaine aussi sensible que le contrôle aérien, il semble pourtant nécessaire que l’outil soit pensé dans ses moindres détails. Comme on va le voir, ce ne sera pas chose aisée, tant la variété des écritures et des niveaux d’information est grande.

L’axe de recherche qui nous est soumis est d’aider à l’anticipation. Plus concrètement, il s’agit d’identifier et de designer des “objets” qui aideraient les contrôleurs à anticiper une surcharge de trafic ou une sous-charge, dans le contexte d’un travail collaboratif et de communication non verbale.

Contexte d'usage

Le contrôle aérien est un milieu à forte culture professionnelle, où chaque geste revêt un engagement de responsabilité. Au cas par cas, chaque vol a son parcours. Les décisions prises par le contrôleur face à son outil sont cruciales : entre l’urgence des situations et les marges de sécurité règlementaires, il a la responsabilité de guider tous les pilotes d’un secteur aérien à un autre. Il doit détecter les schémas récurrents et les situations imprévisibles – qui sont courantes et doivent être prises en main avant de devenir dangereuses.

Tour de contrôle, écran de contrôle aérien et tableau de strip

Tour de contrôle | Tableaux de strips | Strips annotés

Chaque poste de contrôle aérien est partagé par deux opérateurs : le contrôleur organique (CO) qui organise les vols en amont et prépare le travail du second opérateur. Ce dernier, le contrôleur radariste (CR), est en communication radio avec les pilotes. Actuellement, le poste de contrôle est muni d’une imprimante placée entre les deux opérateurs, qui imprime régulièrement les informations concernant les vols sur des bandes de papier appelées strips.

Chacun de ces strips correspond à un vol. Ils sont le support privilégié du travail des contrôleurs : tout au long du suivi d’un vol, ils vont être annotés, raturés, réorganisés, remplacés, déplacés, transmis de la main à la main, jetés… Cette richesse des écritures constitue un savoir-faire fondateur du contrôle aérien.

Les secteurs terminaux alimentent un ou plusieurs aéroports principaux. Ils sont l’interface entre secteurs "en route" et "approche". Les avions entrent dans ces secteurs en croisière, à une vitesse et une altitude élevées. Il va donc s’agir de réduire la vitesse et d’amener les avions à un niveau de vol convenu. Ils seront ensuite transférés à l’approche lorsqu’ils passeront à la verticale d’une balise spécifique. Les avions doivent dans le même temps être séquencés : un délai entre les vols est appliqué pour respecter la capacité des pistes à absorber le trafic.

Actuellement les contrôleurs passent de l’image radar au tableau de strip papier pour se construire une image mentale de la situation.

Des méthodes pour apporter une cohérence
dans le travail interdisciplinaire

Le travail de conception s’est basé sur une analyse approfondie du travail des contrôleurs, qui a mis en évidence les principales faiblesses du système actuel, et tracé la voie pour des suggestions d’amélioration. Dans ASTER, un écran tactile a été positionné en remplacement du tableau de strips papiers actuel – à la place la plus naturelle pour un outil de saisie manuelle.

Compte-tenu de l’importance du plan vertical dans le travail de séparation et de résolution de conflits entre avions, le principe de départ du projet ASTER était d’augmenter une visualisation verticale du trafic par des informations portées sur des strips électroniques. Or, au fur et à mesure des itérations, le travail sur les strips a pris de plus en plus d’importance – à tel point que l’on pourra dans la version finale désafficher la vue verticale… Les strips électroniques seront manipulables au stylet, et les contrôleurs pourront saisir clairances et instructions directement sur ces objets numériques.

Une fois ces fondamentaux posés, le croquis et le storyboard, outils souples et économiques, ont permis de maquetter rapidement les interactions.

La pertinence des interactions a ensuite été évaluée lors des réunions de co-conception, et les solutions prometteuses ont fait l’objet d’itérations successives jusqu’à leur développement – dont la durée a été maîtrisée, pour un résultat rapidement satisfaisant.

Storyboard

Images issues des storyboards ASTER

En passant du papier au numérique, l’enjeu était bien d’augmenter l’interactivité et la rapidité de traitement des données, mais SANS perdre la liberté d’action et la rapidité d’appropriation permises par le papier : en somme, faire en sorte que la numérisation des outils ne provoque pas un appauvrissement des gestes et des pratiques. L’autre enjeu était de permettre l’anticipation d’une situation : quels indices les interfaces peuvent-elles donner sur, par exemple, la surcharge (ou sous-charge) à venir du trafic ?

Le fait de travailler de manière très proche, côte à côte, implique tout une gestuelle, une communication non verbale : un contrôleur va par exemple pouvoir suivre l’avancement d’une tâche sur l’écran de l’autre, et pourrait même se rendre compte que l’autre fait une erreur… C’est parce qu’il y a proximité qu’il y a une plus grande collaboration dans les gestes. Dans ASTER, ce sont les interactions possibles avec les strips qui portent cette dimension collaborative : gestes d’annotation et de saisie, mais aussi gestes de transmission comme lancer un objet d’un écran à l’autre, ou même déposer un strip directement sur l’écran de l’autre ! Les storyboards ci-dessus illustrent, par exemple, différentes possibilités de transmission.

Historique des Strips ASTER

Les informations portées par l’interface ASTER sont nombreuses et doivent être clairement hiérarchisées du point de vue de l’utilisateur. Nous avons ainsi travaillé sur la cohérence graphique de tout le système, en prenant en compte la culture métier et les codes graphiques en usage dans le milieu. ASTER étant un projet de recherche, les versions successives du design ont été évaluées dans le cadre d’expérimentations : le design a pu être affiné sur des points identifiés lors de confrontations avec des usagers potentiels, en condition d’utilisation proches du réel (salle de contrôle).

L’historique du design des strips, visible ci-contre, permet de mesurer les nombreux ajustements qui ont été faits au fur et à mesure des versions. On peut voir comment le graphisme structurera de mieux en mieux les informations, permettant une lisibilité accrue.

Focus sur trois enjeux du design

Sur le projet ASTER, la question de la qualité du design s’est intégrée dans le processus de recherche : celle-ci est devenue un paramètre d’optimisation au même titre que la robustesse des fonctionnalités informatiques ou la précision des données affichées.

Les états du strip

Entre le moment où un vol entre dans le secteur contrôlé et le moment où il en sort, son strip numérique va passer par de nombreux états.

Vol venant de pénétrer le secteur terminal

Vol transféré par le secteur précédent (en route), prêt à être pris en charge

Vol pris en charge par le Contrôleur Organique (CO)

Vol sélectionné par le CO

Vol annoté et transféré par le CO

Vol transmis dans la zone partagée côté CO

Vol transmis dans la zone partagée côté Contrôleur Radariste (CR)

Vol non encore pris en charge par CR

Vol sélectionné par le CR

Vol assumé par le CR, en communication radio

Vol transféré au secteur suivant (approach)

La lisibilité des strips doit être immédiate et leur design doit indiquer leur statut. Entre autres solutions, il a été proposé qu’à chaque poste de contrôle corresponde une couleur : bleu pour le Contrôleur Organique (CO) et brun pour le Contrôleur Radariste (CR). Deux couleurs, qui marquent les strips « appartenant » à un côté ou à l’autre – et dont le contrôleur a la charge. Comme présenté ci-dessus, d’autres moyens sont utilisés pour indiquer d’autres états : la matérialité du graphisme, le niveau de détail des informations portées, la luminosité…

La richesse des écritures

La préservation de la liberté d’utilisation des strips papier était cruciale pour l’acceptabilité du projet par les professionnels – et constituait un terrain d’expérimentation intéressant pour les scientifiques et les ergonomes du projet.

Les strips numériques sont bien sûr des points d’accès en temps réel aux informations concernant chaque vol, mais ils servent également de points de saisie. En interagissant gestuellement directement avec un strip, le contrôleur va pouvoir saisir des informations de clairances (ordres aux pilotes) complémentaires de ses communications radio.

Et ASTER va plus loin encore : tout comme leurs ancêtres de papier, les strips numériques peuvent être le support d’une écriture libre. D’un geste, le contrôleur peut passer l’interface en mode "saisie libre" et écrire, dessiner, barrer, souligner des informations sur les strips eux-mêmes ou sur des notes – qu’il pourra ensuite rattacher aux avions visibles en arrière-plan dans la vue radar verticale.

L'écriture dans l'interface ASTER

Types de saisie et de feedback :
données utilisateur via geste, données système en gris, écriture manuelle sur strips ou sur note

À chacun de ces types d’écriture correspond un code typographique précis rendant compte de l’auteur (CO, CR, système) et de la nature (ordre, hypothèse, proposition, prévision) de l’information. Le design a enfin été contraint et optimisé afin d’être efficient dans le cadre des technologies utilisées – pas d’antialiasing, problématiques de performance, de nombre de couleurs…

Adaptation du design au moment de l’intégration

Un design nourri par la culture métier

Notre premier réflexe en tant que designers fut de proposer un plan de travail sur fond clair, correspondant à une esthétique du papier, et qui se démarquerait volontairement de la technicité informatique. Or l’observation, en contexte, de l’exercice du métier de contrôleur aérien nous a montré notre erreur : en salle de contrôle, comme en cockpit, les usagers gardent les yeux fixés sur les écrans des heures durant – la luminosité générale de la salle de travail est très sombre, et celle des outils également.

Design de strips

Deux designs successifs

Imprimante physique et virtuelle de strips

En vis-à-vis les deux imprimantes, l’analogique et la numérique

Toujours dans le souci d’accompagner la prise en main de l’outil, le design de certains éléments (l’imprimante de strips ou les strips eux-mêmes) font référence aux objets du métier dans leur version analogique (skeuomorphism). À l’inverse, les éléments liés à des données numériques, comme les informations transmises par datalink, ou les comètes représentant la position des avions sur la vue radar sont eux traités sur un mode plus "immatériel", qu’on pourrait qualifier de flat design.

Conclusion : expérimentations et résultats

Une série d’expérimentations a été menée en simulation temps réel avec des contrôleurs du centre de contrôle de Paris : les principes de visualisation verticale et d’écrans tactiles pour les saisies ont été validés, et les temps de saisie sont du même ordre que ceux mesurés avec le strip papier.

Ce résultat, obtenu sans formation préalable, est très prometteur. Par ailleurs, les tests sur la mémorisation des conflits à l’issue des simulations confortent le fait que la vue verticale ne dégrade pas la représentation mentale de la situation. Certains résultats correspondent même à une amélioration de la représentation (réduction par deux des clairances en niveau, doublement des clairances en vitesse.)

Lors de la présentation au salon ATC Maastricht 2007, les contrôleurs en visite qui ont testé l’outil ont mis dix minutes à prendre en main l’outil avant de commencer à gérer un trafic simulé, puis sont parvenus en peu de temps à réellement inventer des usages.

En s’inscrivant dans une perspective "post-WIMP" (Windows, Icons, Menus, Pointing device), ASTER a permis au contrôleur de réaliser des actions expertes en interaction directe : dans le cadre de l’accompagnement au changement, l’acceptabilité de ce nouvel outil est un atout… Et le fait de pousser la qualité de l'interface, – d'un point de vue de l'usage et d'un point de vue esthétique, – au niveau de celle d'un produit, pour générer un sentiment de confort, de sécurité et de confiance en la machine, s’est avéré payant. Cela n’a été possible que grâce à une étroite collaboration au sein de l’équipe de recherche, entre la conception des fonctionnalités, le développement et le design.

Projets liés