2009-2014

Intactile DESIGN designed the interface for the product FibroScan as well as the enhancement options for complementary use.

TOP 10 Chinese investments

By the end of 2013, Echosens is the 7th largest Chinese investment made in France thanks to its purchase in 2011 by a large pharmaceutical company.

Echosens Logo

Echosens is an international company operating in over 70 countries, with subsidiaries in Europe and Asia, and a growing range of products and services.
We are pleased that the innovation brought to the interface design has contributed to product excellence.

Logo Observeur du design

A 2012 Observeur du design Star was awarded to Intactile DESIGN for human–computer interaction (HCI) and to Nova Design for the object design of the device FibroScan 502 Touch, released by the company Echosens.

FibroScan 502 Touch, touch interface

Fibroscan 502 Touch interface

The FibroScan product

Fibroscan product and its interface

Moving upmarket

In 2009, Echosens considers upgrading its product FibroScan through building on a new overall design of the device. Two agencies are selected: Nova for the object design and ourselves, Intactile DESIGN, specializing in interface design.

On the market from 2004, the FibroScan is a highly innovative diagnostic tool that measures liver elasticity in a completely non-invasive way. This piece of equipment has revolutionized the practice of Hepatology around the world by limiting the use of liver biopsy which is a painful procedure. Non-invasive, simple and fast, it measures the health of the liver using low frequency elastic waves, called shear waves, whose propagation is monitored using ultrasonic waves.

From a marketing point of view, this new version will show a distinct evolution as it changes from keyboard / trackball interaction to direct touch interaction. On the one hand work on the object design by Nova and on the other our work on digital design has made the product available in a consistent range - employing the management of intermediate software versions to update old material and diversify usage.

Illustration of the range of Fibroscan products

Observing usage in situ

As a designer of usage, we chose to observe in situ the use of FibroScan in hospitals, and tracked its use in practice - user gestures and perceptions, their values and requirements plus their overall work environment.

What time was allowed for the measurement? What path does the eye take to look at the screen? How are abstract images understood by users who do not have the same level of training?

Our short qualitative pragmatic approach – as distinguished from a longer quantitative ergonomic assessment – allowed us to take a basic look at on-the-spot usage in a way that brought out the main features which would provoke the right design questions.

How participatory design
facilitates interdisciplinary work

Represented around the participatory design table were: a medical expert concerned with the protocol, a researcher, "a marketer", a head of training, a developer of visualization algorithms, an interface developer and ourselves - interface designers with our sketches and post-its. Suffice to say that each one mentally visualizes a different interface for each idea expressed verbally, especially when the idea requires the ability to represent a sequence of screens. The time spent identifying misunderstandings often left the team tired with nothing achieved.

It is at this level that the designer proves useful by manipulating the idea through visual media, like the communication wall, sketching, paper mock-ups of screens and storyboards. These low-tech tools can quickly outline screens, play out scenarios and convey them clearly and, above all, they can be modified on the spot. The finer details of interactions cannot be managed, but the basic concepts are established based on the skill sets represented around the table - each actor is obviously sensitive to very different points which are often not perceived or given the same value by others.

This time spent sharing key points related to various disciplines is always a moment of extreme wealth of exchange in the life of a company. It is an opportunity for sharing knowledge.

For example, the training part can bring up, while discussing a point of detail, difficulties regarding user comprehension that R&D has not thought of; or R&D conjures up possible developments to consider; or even the area of legal protocol, which sometimes creates paranoid self-censorship among others, can help resolve real-time situations.

Focus on the design of feedback pressure on the FribroScan sensor

To trigger a "shot" - triggering a low frequency wave stroke associated with ultrasonic waves - two feedbacks must be visible, legible and understandable simultaneously and without hesitation: that of the pressure of the probe and of the signal quality of the ultrasonic wave. For the latter, training on how to read the image is required; whereas for the pressure of the probe no special knowledge is required. So it could be significantly improved for a clear second level reading. Our intuition was simple, but the path to get to a final design is interesting to trace.

Old interface of Fibroscan

Extract from the existing interface. In the middle, real-time feedback of the ultrasonic wave; on the right, real-time feedback from the pressure sensor; on the left, a history of the ultrasonic wave which runs towards the left. During usage observation, it was found that users focus on the feedback from the ultrasonic wave and perceive the pressure feedback in their peripheral vision.

Our sketches made ​​during the first co-design meeting do not tell you anything, however they contain all the basic ideas. You can see that the probe was drawn behind the words pressure; a symbol could be combined with feedback. Green dashed lines show the direction of the wave sent from top to bottom. A circle surrounds them as well as the upper areas of the ultrasonic wave previews. What if the feedback pressure was placed in this area? Then we would break the alignment of the three vertical sections that suggest a sequence, and express more simultaneity by vertically linking the pressure with the image of the ultrasonic feedback. The pressure graphics could be directly at the bottom, unframed, in order to put it on another plane.

Sketch of feedback pressure, Fibroscan sensor

Proposal in the form of paper mock-ups on which the two sources of feedback are distinguished. These are associated vertically to emphasize the temporal simultaneity. Search for more evocative graphics for the concept of pressure

Throughout the versions the graphic feedback of the pressure sensor loses its distended form and takes on a more circular shape, more suggestive of a concept of a pressure fashioned with a tubular object. It is associated vertically to the real time feedback of the ultrasonic wave sensor. The result being a more logical reading. When the probe is not in contact, the interface is silent and as soon as it is the feedback images are displayed and those in real time move together on a vertical line.

An analogy is made between the specific area of ​​ultrasound imaging and the patient's body through the placement of pressure feedback on the border between the upper zone that contains more external information, such as patient name, time, etc., and the lower area of the ultrasound image. Without pressure, the limit is flat. With pressure, it deepens and feedback appears around it. The logic is complete when it is known that the white wave line moves from the top downward or from the patient's skin to the inside of the body. In the final design, this idea is taken even further with the graphic suggestion of the probe tip and feedback in a semicircle shape that evokes the waves being sent.

This coherence between the attention capacity of the user, the technological background and the graphic layout of the interface events as well as their arrangement relative to each other, subsequently enabled the easy integration of a new help function into the preview analysis that can be seen between the pressure feedback and the ultrasonic wave feedback. The story behind this detail, which comes down to a single line of light, could also give rise to an instructive analysis about the relationship between algorithm design and design creation!

Intactile Design star!

Awarded a star of design for interface Fibroscan

The APCI awarded a 2012 Observateur du design Star to Intactile DESIGN for human–computer interaction (HCI) and to Nova Design for the object design of the device FibroScan 502 Touch, released by the company Echosens.

Observeur du design The competition seeks out innovative achievements based on design to which it awards the Observeur du design label. Each year it recognizes excellence by awarding design Stars and awards from partners (Ministry of Industry, Secretary of State for Digital Development, City of Paris, Lieu de design, OSEO and INPI). The Observeur holds "the international competition" label of the ICSID (International Council of Societies of Industrial Design), an institution of reference in terms of design.

Linked projects

2009-2014

Intactile DESIGN conçoit l'interface du produit FibroScan, ainsi que sa déclinaison de gamme autour d'usages complémentaires.

TOP 10 Des investissements chinois

Fin 2013, Echosens est le 7e plus gros investissement chinois réalisé en France avec leur rachat en 2011 par un grand groupe pharmaceutique.

Logo Echosens

Echosens est une société internationale présente sur plus de 70 pays, avec des filiales sur l'Europe et l'Asie, une gamme de produits et de services qui s'étend. Nous sommes heureux que l'innovation issue du design d'interface que nous avons apportée participe à son excellence.

Logo Observeur du design

Une Étoile de l'Observeur du design 2012 est décernée à Intactile Design pour l'IHM et à Nova Design pour le design objet de l'appareil FibroScan 502 Touch, édité par la société Echosens

FibroScan 502 Touch, interface tactile

Interface du Fibroscan 502 Touch

Le produit FibroScan

Le produit Fibroscan et son interface

Montée en gamme

En 2009, Echosens envisage la montée en gamme de son produit FibroScan en tablant sur un nouveau design global de l'appareil. Deux agences sont choisies : Nova pour le design objet, et nous, Intactile DESIGN, spécialisés en design d'interface.

Commercialisé à partir de 2004, le FibroScan est un outil de diagnostic très innovant qui mesure de manière totalement non invasive l'élasticité hépatique. Cet appareil a révolutionné la pratique de l’hépatologie dans le monde entier en permettant de limiter le recours à la biopsie hépatique, une intervention douloureuse. Non invasif, simple et rapide, il mesure l’état de santé du foie à l'aide d'ondes élastiques basse fréquence, appelées onde de cisaillement, dont la propagation est suivie à l'aide d'ondes ultrasonores.

Sous l'angle de vue du marketing, cette nouvelle version doit marquer une nette évolution du produit qui passe d'une interaction clavier/trackball à une interaction directe tactile. Le travail sur le design objet de Nova d'un côté et notre travail sur le design numérique de l'autre ont permis de décliner le produit dans une gamme cohérente, en jouant sur une gestion de versions logicielles intermédiaires pour updater les anciens supports et diversifier les usages.

Illustration de la gamme des produits Fiborscan

Observation d'usage in situ

En tant que designer d'usages, nous avons fait la démarche d'aller observer in situ l'usage du FibroScan dans les hôpitaux, et avons fait remonter l'utilisation terrain, les gestes et les perceptions des usagers, leurs valeurs, leurs exigences, leur ambiance de travail globale.

Quel est le temps accordé à la mesure ? Quel est le parcours du regard sur l'écran ? Quelle est la compréhension des images abstraites des usagers qui n’ont pas le même niveau de formation ?

Notre approche pragmatique qualitative légère – à bien distinguer d'une évaluation ergonomique quantitative plus longue – nous permet de porter un regard ingénu sur les usages terrain de façon à en faire émerger les caractéristiques principales pour placer les bons questionnements de conception.

Comment la conception participative facilite le travail interdisciplinaire

Autour de la table de conception participative étaient présents : médecin expert attaché au protocole, chercheur, "marketeur", responsable de la formation, développeur d'algorithme de visualisation, développeur d'interface et nous, designers d'interface avec nos croquis et nos post-it. Autant dire que chacun visualise mentalement une interface différente à chaque idée énoncée verbalement, surtout quand l'idée requiert la capacité à se représenter un enchaînement d'écrans. Le temps passé à identifier les malentendus fatigue souvent l'équipe sans aboutir à quoi que ce soit.

C'est à ce niveau que le designer se montre fort utile en fournissant des supports visuels de manipulation de l'idée, comme le wall communication, le croquis, les maquettes papier d'écrans, les storyboards d'usage. Ces outils low tech permettent d'esquisser rapidement les écrans, de jouer des scénarios d'usage, de les partager sans ambiguïté de compréhension et surtout de les modifier en direct. Les détails d'interactions fines ne sont pas gérés, mais les concepts de base sont mis en place en s'appuyant sur l'ensemble des compétences rassemblées autour de la table – chaque acteur étant évidemment sensibles à des points très différents, souvent non valorisés ni perçus par les autres.

Ce temps de partage des points clés liés aux diverses disciplines est toujours un moment d'une richesse extrême au niveau de la vie d'une entreprise. C'est l'occasion d'un partage de connaissance.

Par exemple, la partie training fait remonter à l'occasion d'un point de détail des difficultés de compréhension des usagers que la R&D n'imaginait pas, ou bien la R&D évoque des pistes d'évolution à considérer, ou encore la partie protocole juridique, qui crée quelquefois de l'autocensure paranoïaque chez les autres, peut débloquer des situations en direct.

Focale sur la conception du feedback de pression
de la sonde du FribroScan

Pour déclencher un “tir”, le déclenchement d'un coup basse fréquence associé à l'envoi d'ondes ultrasonores, deux feedbacks doivent être visibles, lisibles et compréhensibles simultanément et sans hésitation : celui de la pression de la sonde et celui de la qualité du signal de l'onde ultrasonore. Pour ce dernier, une formation sur la lecture de l'image est nécessaire ; par contre, celui concernant la pression de sonde ne requiert aucune connaissance particulière. Il pouvait donc être nettement amélioré pour une lecture de second niveau sans ambiguïté. Notre intuition était simple, mais le chemin parcouru pour arriver au design final est intéressant à retracer.

Ancienne interface de Fibroscan

Extrait de l'interface existante. Au milieu, feedback en temps réel de l'onde ultrasonore ; à droite, feedback en temps réel de la pression de la sonde ; à gauche, historique de l'onde ultrasonore qui se déroule vers la gauche. Lors de l'observation d'usage, il est ressorti que les utilisateurs se concentrent sur les feedbacks de l'onde ultrasonore et perçoivent en vision périphérique le feedback de la pression.

Notre croquis réalisé lors de la première séance de co-conception ne vous dira rien ; cependant il contient toutes les idées de base. Vous observez que la sonde a été dessinée derrière les mots pression, un pictogramme pourrait être associé au feedback. Des tirets verts évoquent la direction de l'onde envoyée du haut vers le bas ; un cercle les entoure ainsi que les zones supérieures des previews de l'onde ultrasonore. Et si le feedback de pression était placé dans cette zone ? On briserait alors l'alignement des trois parties verticales qui suggèrent un enchaînement, et on exprimerait plus une simultanéité en associant verticalement la pression avec l'image de feedback ultrasonore. Le graphisme de la pression pourrait aussi être directement sur le fond, sans cadre, pour le mettre sur un autre plan.

Croquis du feedback de pression de la sonde Fibroscan

Proposition sous forme de maquettes papier sur lesquelles les deux sources de feedback sont différenciées. Celles-ci sont associés verticalement pour souligner la simultanéité temporelle. Recherche d'un graphisme plus évocateur de la notion de pression

Au fur et à mesure des versions le feedback graphique de pression de la sonde perd sa forme étirée, prend une forme plus circulaire, plus évocatrice d'une notion de pression effectuée avec un objet tubulaire. Il est associé verticalement au feedback temps réel de l'onde ultrasonore. Une lecture logique se met en place. Quand la sonde n'est pas en contact, l'interface est muette ; dès qu'elle l'est, les images de feedback s'affichent et celles en temps réel bougent en même temps sur une ligne verticale.

Une métaphore est faite entre la zone spécifique de l'imagerie ultrasonore et le corps du patient à travers le placement du feedback de pression sur la frontière entre la zone supérieure qui contient des informations plutôt extérieures comme le nom du patient, l'heure, etc. et la zone inférieure de l'image ultrasonore. Sans pression, la limite est plate. Avec pression, elle se creuse et le feedback apparaît autour. La logique est complète quand l'on sait que le trait ondulatoire blanc se déplace du haut vers le bas, soit de la peau du patient vers l'intérieur de son corps. Dans la version finale du design, cette idée est poussée encore plus loin avec l'évocation graphique du bout de la sonde et un feedback en demi-cercle qui évoque l'envoi d'ondes.

Cette cohérence entre les capacités d'attention de l'usager, le fond technologique et la présentation graphique des événements sur l'interface ainsi que leur disposition les uns par rapport aux autres, a permis, par la suite, d'intégrer facilement une nouvelle fonction d'aide à l'analyse du préview que l'on aperçoit entre le feedback de pression et celui de l'onde ultrasonore. L'histoire de ce détail qui se réduit à un simple trait lumineux, pourrait, lui aussi donner lieu à une analyse instructive sur le rapport entre la conception d'algorithme et la conception design !

Étoile du design

Remise d'une étoile du design à intactile pour l'interface de Fibroscan

L'APCI a décerné une Étoile de l'Observeur du design 2012 à Intactile DESIGN pour l'IHM et à Nova Design pour le design objet de l'appareil FibroScan 502 Touch, édité par la société Echosens.

L’Observeur du design  Le concours repère des réalisations innovantes grâce au design auxquelles il décerne le label de l’Observeur du design. Il récompense chaque année l’excellence par l’attribution des Étoiles du design et par des prix décernés par les partenaires (ministère de l’Industrie, secrétariat d’État au numérique, Ville de Paris, Lieu du design, OSEO et l’INPI). L’Observeur bénéficie du label « compétition internationale » de l’ICSID (International Council of Societies of Industrial Design), institution de référence en matière de design.

Projets liés