3

connected systems: an acquisition center with pressure sensors, a smartphone application, and a web interface.

Sitevi
25th November 2015

Exhibition of PICORE with IRSTEA at the International Equipment and Expertise Exhibition for the Vine-Wine, Olive, Fruit-Vegetable Productions of Montpellier.

2017

Placing the PICORE kit on the market by the German company SIKA.

Visualization of a treated plot - interface on smartphone

Picore interface on smartphone

Data control during spraying - interface on smartphone

Picore interface on smartphone

Creating a treatment- web interface

Picore web interface

What is "smart viticulture"?

Investing in viticulture is not easy. Although the technology is already there, thanks to the mechanization and the generalization of new tools and machines, the winegrowers remain users of the land, where the work of the ground persists and remains a privilege. The evocation of new digital tools with services on computer and smartphone sometimes triggers perplexed reactions or even a mistrust before adopting the tool.

The most complicated thing was learning to use a smartphone...

Lionel Delsol, winegrower

In this field, between the expertise of the winemaker, new technologies and the environment, the intactile DESIGN team accompanied by Vincent de Rudnicki, a research engineer from the IRSTEA in Montpellier, and the project holder for the SATT AxLR (technology transfer acceleration company).

The ambition of the PICORE device is not tiny, it aims to help the vine grower to reduce the quantities of plant protection products and thus limit their impact on the environment and health. Nowadays, winegrowers lack visibility on the actual use and dosage of their products at the time of spreading. By calculating the right dose and visualizing what is actually done on their plots, growers will be able to reduce the quantities used by 15 to 20% in the short term and to reach the targets set by the Ecophyto 2 plan in 2025.

They are given the opportunity to calculate the right quantity of products, to have a quality of processing and thus, ultimately, a reduction in the quantity of products used.

Vincent de Rudnicki, Research Engineer at IRSTEA

The device can also improve the traceability of treatments, because if their dangers are no longer to be proved, the use of plant protection products is controlled on the basis of what the vine grower declares. PICORE, by recording what is actually done on the plots, will allow the winemaker to have all the information in hand to show the quality of his applications and justify them objectively.

The aim of the project, from the design side, is therefore to create and develop with IRSTEA a system of coherent, simple and robust digital objects that leave the user a hand while saving time and quality in his work, without giving him the feeling of being watched or judged by a machine.

To each connected object, a dedicated use

When designing a system, it is necessary to clearly define what needs are to be answered for each of the concerned objects. The interactions that link them must be fluid, redundancies should be avoided. A user does not do the same thing on his computer while sitting during day time, as he does on his smartphone at night while driving a tractor.

Three elements constitute the PICORE device in order to obtain the most efficient user experience possible.

The web application allows the winegrower to prepare in advance the treatments according to the size of plots, products, the equipment and thus to monitor all the phytosanitary treatments of the operation.

The data acquisition unit (also called PicoreBOX) associated with the sensors on the sprayer is the technological part of PICORE, giving the "pulse" of the system at the time of spreading (speed, pressure, etc.).

The smartphone is the tool that initiates the acquisition of data and allows to monitor the good progress according to the recommendations made for the treatment.

Picore ecosystem functioning diagram

the winegrower prepares his treatments in advance on his web interface

the data is sent to the web server

During processing, the sensors and the data acquisition unit record processing data, while the smartphone interface allows to monitor / regulate the spreading in real time

the vine-grower visualizes the quality of his treatment on the plot

the acquired data is sent to the web interface

Winegrowers are present at each stage of the design cycle

Thinking closely with winemakers was not a strange approach to Vincent, and he naturally trusted to intactile DESIGN to do the project with our own observation methods followed by Co-design and testing sessions with winegrowers. This seems obvious, but keeping end users in the loop throughout the design is not always a well-respected process. Far from being obstacles, winegrowers are, by means of their profession, the guarantors of use, gestures, feelings on which the designer will be able to detect weak signals and identify the relevant elements to carry out a good design. Their experience in the field is therefore essential to the progress of the project.

Several winegrowers were met on their farms in Neffies, Alignan-du-Vent and Grabels (South of France), it was an opportunity to gather testimonies on their way of treating the vines, to observe their gestures with the material and products, and have a better understanding of their work context.

Observations of in situ use

Observations of in situ use

Spreading is a particular agricultural technique that remains dependent of weather conditions, specificities of the vineyard and the exploitation ground, safety and regulation that govern the use of plant protection products. The grafical interfaces must be imagined in this specific context and meet a certain number of business constraints in order to be really usable in the field.

The wine-growers were present from the first co-conception sessions, bringing ideas, constructive remarks on the proposals. It is therefore collectively by means of paper models, that we designed the interface of the smartphone and web application, making sure to distribute coherently the uses of winegrowers on both supports. Once the storyboards were validated, and the first developments were initiated, a first version of the system was tested in situ with the vine growers. This phase is crucial because it allows to validate or invalidate elements of the interfaces (size of the objects, understanding of the interactions, ...). Iteratively, software design and graphical design are therefore improved to make the system more robust.

Participatory design

Participatory design with winegrowers around paper models

Halfway through the project, a first test was carried out in an almost real-life situation to evaluate the user experience with the smartphone. However, for safety reasons, it was not possible to carry out this observation during the night with the presence of real phytosanitary products.

With the video, we were able to verify the appropriation of a first version of the tool by the winegrower, to identify its misunderstandings, to validate the main principles of use.

Video extracted from the behavioral study

Face to reality, the interface designed for the smartphone has evolved. Thanks to the observations we were able to improve the interface. For example, the size and layout of certain objects have been revised to be even more adapted to the dimensions of the winegrower’s fingers!

Graphical visualizations in accordance with the use and data

The PICORE system allows to recover a large number of data at the time of processing. To be readable by the user, they must use representations (shapes and colors) adapted to the needs and uses of the wine grower.

View and control an ongoing process

Acquisition view of smartphone

When the winemaker is in his tractor, he mainly controls the trajectory, the speed and the sprayer. Although he has prepared the right quantities of products in his tank, he risks under or over-dosing.

The smartphone acts as an extension of the dashboard. Several information is displayed: speed, flow, tank level, temperature, etc.

Color variations indicate a problem: material damage, deviations from the recommendations, etc. The winemaker is thus able to readjust parameters quickly during the treatment. For the sake of comfort, the acquisition screen uses turned down tints so that the winegrower is not dazzled as the task is often carried out at night.

Understanding what has been achieved

Acquisition view of smartphone

The winemaker gets the geolocalized route of what he actually did on his plot.

Each color corresponds to a level of dosage: green indicates that the right dosage has been applied, blue means that it has been under-dosed (the vine may be less protected than expected), the red alerts on the fact that the area received too much product.

The plot image is a good indicator of the carried out task. The vine-grower, according to his field, will more precisely identify the areas at risk and know where he can improve the treatment.

This visual result allows the winemaker to immediately have a qualitative return on his work, and will encourage him to improve his practice (to have the correct dose, to save products, to limit the impact on the environment, etc.). Thanks to the plot image, the winegrower will more precisely identify the risk areas of his plot.

Supervising plots and anticipating

The treatments are prepared in advance via the web interface, then archived there after processing. The application is really a management tool as it proposes the winegrower to see all its treatments which are carried out and all those ahead. The representation through timeline allows to have the history of the treatments of the plot, to better anticipate the persistence of the products and therefore the next treatments.

Timeline web

What is still to come…

After a year of development and testing with the first users, the PICORE Kit is expected to be launched in 2017 by the German company SIKA in charge of the selling.

The flexibility of the installation (removable and compatible with all types of equipment) and its relatively moderate cost (around 2500 €), will make the device very accessible to winegrowers.

The world of viticulture already talks about PICORE (La vigne, Paysan du Midi, France 3). The results and the impact on current methods of treatment are such that the device could be applied to other agricultural areas for which is used high doses of pesticides. To be continued…

Projets liés

3

systèmes connectés : une centrale d'acquisition avec des capteurs de pression, une application smartphone, et une interface web.

Sitevi
25 novembre 2015

exposition de PICORE avec l'IRSTEA au salon des équipements et savoir-faire pour les productions de vigne et de vin de Montpellier.

2017

mise sur le marché du kit PICORE par l'entreprise allemande SIKA.

Visualisation d’une parcelle traitée - interface sur smartphone

Interface Picore sur Smartphone

Contrôle des données pendant la pulvérisation - interface sur smartphone

Interface Picore sur Smartphone

Création d’un traitement - interface web

Interface Picore sur le web

Qu'est-ce que la "smart viticulture" ?

Investir le domaine de la viticulture n’est pas chose aisée. Bien que la technologie y soit déjà présente, grâce à la mécanisation et à la généralisation de nouveaux outils et machines, les viticulteurs demeurent des usagers de terrain, où le travail du sol et de la main perdure et y reste même privilégié. L’évocation de nouveaux outils numériques avec des services sur ordinateur et smartphone déclenche parfois des réactions perplexes, voire une certaine méfiance avant d’emporter l’adhésion.

Le plus compliqué a été d’apprendre à me servir d’un smartphone…

Lionel Delsol, viticulteur

C’est sur ce terrain, entre savoir faire du vigneron, nouvelles technologies et environnement, que l’équipe d’intactile DESIGN a accompagné Vincent de Rudnicki, ingénieur de recherche à l’IRSTEA de Montpellier, et porteur du projet pour la SATT AxLR.

Le dispositif PICORE a une ambition qui n’est pas des moindres, il vise à aider le viticulteur à diminuer les quantités de produits phytosanitaires utilisées et donc d’en limiter l’impact sur l’environnement et la santé. Aujourd’hui les viticulteurs manquent de visibilité sur l’utilisation et le dosage réel de leurs produits au moment de l’épandage. En calculant la juste dose nécessaire, et en visualisant ce qui est réellement fait sur leurs parcelles, les viticulteurs vont pouvoir à court terme, réduire les quantités utilisées de 15 à 20% et tendre vers les objectifs fixés par le plan Ecophyto 2 en 2025.

On leur donne la possibilité de calculer la juste quantité de produits, d’avoir une qualité de traitement et donc in fine, une réduction de la quantité de produits utilisés.

Vincent de Rudnicki, ingénieur de recherche à l’IRSTEA

Le dispositif peut améliorer également la traçabilité des traitements, car si leurs dangers n’est plus à prouver, l’utilisation de produits phytosanitaires est contrôlée sur la base de ce que le viticulteur déclare. PICORE, en enregistrant ce qui est réellement effectué sur les parcelles, permettra au viticulteur d’avoir toutes les informations en main pour montrer la qualité de ses applications et les justifier objectivement.

L’enjeu du projet côté design est donc de concevoir et de développer avec l’IRSTEA un système d’objets numériques cohérents, simples d’usage et robustes, qui laissent la main à l’usager tout en lui faisant gagner du temps et de la qualité dans son travail, sans pour autant lui donner le sentiment d’être surveillé ou jugé par une machine.

À chaque objet connecté, un usage dédié

Lorsque l’on conçoit un système, il est nécessaire de bien définir à quel besoin on répond pour chacun des objets concernés. Les interactions qui les unissent doivent être fluides, les redondances sont à éviter. Un usager ne fait pas la même chose sur son ordinateur assis en journée, que sur son smartphone la nuit en conduisant un tracteur.

Trois éléments constituent le dispositif PICORE afin d’obtenir une expérience usager la plus efficiente possible.

L’application web permet au viticulteur de préparer en amont les traitements en fonction de la taille des parcelles, des produits, du matériel et d’avoir ainsi un suivi de l’ensemble des traitements phytosanitaires de l’exploitation.

La centrale d’acquisition des données (appelée aussi PicoreBOX) associée aux capteurs embarqués sur le pulvérisateur, est la partie technologique de PICORE, c’est elle qui permet de "prendre le pouls" du système au moment de l’épandage (vitesse, pression,etc).

Le smartphone est l’outil qui lance l’acquisition de données et permet de contrôler le bon déroulement en fonction des préconisations faites pour le traitement.

Schéma de fonctionnement de l’écosystème Picore

le viticulteur prépare ses traitements sur son interface web en amont

les données sont envoyées au web serveur

pendant le traitement les capteurs et le boîtier enregistrent les données du traitement et l'interface smartphone permet de contrôler/réguler l'épandage en temps réel

le viticulteur visualise la qualité de son traitement sur la parcelle

les données acquises sont renvoyées sur l’interface web

Des viticulteurs présents à chaque étape du cycle de conception

Réfléchir de manière étroite avec les viticulteurs n’était pas une approche étrangère à Vincent, et c’est naturellement qu’il a fait confiance à intactile DESIGN pour aborder le projet avec nos propres méthodes d’observations d’usage in situ, suivies de séances de co-conception et de tests avec les viticulteurs. Cela semble une évidence, mais garder les utilisateurs finaux dans la boucle tout au long de la conception n’est pas toujours un processus bien respecté. Loin d’être des freins, les viticulteurs sont, de part leur métier les garants des usages, des gestes, des ressentis sur lesquels le designer va pouvoir détecter des signaux faibles et identifier les éléments pertinents pour mener une bonne conception. Leur expérience du terrain est donc indispensable au déroulement du projet.

Plusieurs viticulteurs ont été rencontrés sur leurs exploitations à Neffies, Alignan-du-Vent et Grabels (34), ce fut l’occasion de recueillir des témoignages sur leur manière de traiter les vignes, d’observer leurs gestes avec le matériel et les produits et de mieux cerner leur contexte de travail.

Séance d'observation d'usage

Observations d’usage in-situ

L’épandage est une technique agricole bien particulière qui reste assujettie aux conditions météo, aux spécificités de la vigne et du terrain d’exploitation, à la sécurité et la réglementation qui encadrent l’usage de produits phytosanitaires. Les interfaces doivent être imaginées dans ce contexte bien précis et répondre à un certain nombre de contraintes métier pour être réellement utilisables sur le terrain.

Les viticulteurs ont été présents dès les premières séances de co-conception, amenant des idées, des remarques constructives sur les propositions. C’est donc collectivement au moyen de maquettes papier, que nous avons conçu l’interface de l’application smartphone et web, en veillant à répartir avec cohérence les usages des viticulteurs sur les deux supports. Une fois les storyboards validés, et les premiers développements initiés, une première version du système a été testée en situation avec les viticulteurs. Cette phase est cruciale car elle permet de valider ou d'invalider des éléments des interfaces (taille des objets, compréhension des interactions, …). De manière itérative, la conception et le design graphique sont donc améliorés pour que le système gagne en robustesse.

Séance de conception

Conception participative avec les viticulteurs autour des maquettes papier

À mi-parcours du projet, un premier test a été réalisé en situation quasi-réelle afin d’évaluer l’expérience utilisateur avec le smartphone. Cependant pour des questions de sécurité, il n’a pas été possible de réaliser cette observation de nuit avec la présence de réels produits phytosanitaires.

Au moyen de la vidéo, nous avons pu vérifier l’appropriation d’une première version de l’outil par le viticulteur, relever ses incompréhensions, valider les grands principes d’usage.

Extrait vidéo de l’étude comportementale

À l’épreuve de la réalité, l’interface conçue pour le smartphone a su évoluer. Grâce aux observations nous avons pu améliorer l’interface. Par exemple, la taille et la disposition de certains objets ont été revues de manière à être encore plus adaptées aux dimensions des doigts des viticulteurs !

Des visualisations graphiques en adéquation avec les usages et les données

Le système PICORE permet de récupérer un grand nombre de données au moment d'un traitement. Pour être lisibles par l'usager elles doivent faire appel à des représentations (formes et couleurs) adaptées aux besoins et aux usages du viticulteur.

Visualiser et contrôler un traitement en cours

Visualisation smarthone acquisition

Lorsqu’il est dans son tracteur, le viticulteur contrôle principalement sa trajectoire, sa vitesse et son pulvérisateur. Bien qu’il ait préparé les bonnes quantités de produits dans sa cuve, il risque un sous ou sur-dosage.

Le smartphone agit comme une extension du tableau de bord. Plusieurs informations y sont affichées : vitesse, débits, niveau de cuve, température, etc.

Les variations de couleurs signalent un problème : une avarie matérielle, une déviation de la préconisation, etc. Le viticulteur a ainsi la possibilité de réajuster rapidement ses paramètres pendant le traitement. Par souci de confort, l’écran de l’acquisition utilise des teintes rabattues, de manière à ne pas éblouir le viticulteur lors de sa tâche qui est souvent effectuée de nuit.

Comprendre ce qui a été réalisé

Visualisation smarpthone acquisition

Le viticulteur obtient le tracé géolocalisé de ce qu’il a réellement effectué sur sa parcelle.

À chaque couleur correspond un niveau de dosage : le vert indique que le bon dosage a été appliqué, le bleu qu’il y a eu sous-dosage (la vigne risque d’être moins bien protégée que prévu), le rouge alerte sur le fait que la zone a reçu trop de produit.

L’image de la parcelle est un bon indicateur de la tâche réalisée, le viticulteur en fonction de son terrain va identifier plus finement les zones à risques et donc là où il peut améliorer son traitement.

Ce résultat visuel permet au viticulteur d’avoir immédiatement un retour qualitatif sur son travail, et a fortiori va l’encourager à perfectionner sa pratique (avoir la juste dose, économiser des produits, limiter l’impact sur l’environnement, etc). Grâce à l'image de la parcelle, le viticulteur va identifier plus finement les zones à risques de son terrain.

Superviser les parcelles et anticiper

Les traitements sont préparés en amont via l’interface web, ils y sont ensuite archivés. L’application se présente davantage comme un outil de gestion en proposant au viticulteur de voir l’ensemble de ses traitements effectués et à venir. Le mode de représentation en timeline permet d’avoir l’historique des traitements de la parcelle, de mieux anticiper la rémanence des produits et donc les prochains traitements.

Timeline interface web

Suites à venir…

Après une année de mise au point et de tests avec les premiers utilisateurs, le Kit PICORE devrait être lancé courant 2017 par l’entreprise allemande SIKA en charge de sa commercialisation.

La flexibilité de son installation (amovible et compatible à tout type de matériel) et son coût relativement modéré (autour de 2500 €), rendront le dispositif très accessible aux viticulteurs.

Le monde de la viticulture parle déjà de PICORE (La vigne, Paysan du Midi, France 3). Les résultats et l’impact sur les méthodes actuelles de traitements sont tels, que le dispositif pourrait s’appliquer à d’autres domaines agricoles gourmands en produits phytosanitaires. Affaire à suivre…

Projets liés