The avionics, ie all computer equipments that help to control aircraft is a prime area of research in HCI. Since 2010, Intactile DESIGN had the chance to work with the R&D department of Airbus on the design of cockpit interfaces: a dozen studies have been conducted since then, in co-design with pilots, engineers and ergonomists teams of the aircraft manufacturer.

Some of these projects have been the subject of patenting:

Interactive dialog device between an operator of an aircraft and a guidance system of said aircraft – US 20130135202 A1
The dialog device includes an interaction on a screen which represents, on the one hand, a playback element indicating the value of a guidance setpoint of the guidance system of the aircraft, and on the other hand, a control element which can be grasped and moved along a curve by an operator to modify the value of the guidance setpoint.
Thierry Bourret, Nicolas Chauveau, Pascale Louise-Babando, Claire Ollagnon

Interactive dialog devices and methods for an operator of an aircraft and a guidance system of the aircraft – US 20130211635 A1
The dialog devices and methods can include an interaction on a screen that can represent, on the one hand, a playback element indicating the value of a guidance target of the guidance system of the aircraft, and on the other hand, a control element that can be grasped or selected and moved on a display along a path, such as for example a curve, by an operator to modify the value of the guidance target.
Thierry Bourret, Nicolas Chauveau, Sebastien Drieux, Sebastien Giuliano, Pascale Louise-Babando, Claire Ollagnon

Method and device for displaying flight parameters in an aircraft – EP 2717019 A1
The method involves performing a check to verify whether motion of an aircraft is consistent with a guidance setpoint relating to a flight parameter. A part of a scale e.g. speed scale, starting from a current value of the flight parameter is displayed in the direction of motion of the aircraft if the motion of the aircraft is consistent with the guidance setpoint. The scale is unravelled in two opposite directions with respect to the current value of the flight parameter if the motion of the aircraft is not consistent with the guidance setpoint.
Nicolas Chauveau, Pascale Louise, Delphine MacDonald, Fabien Perrin

L’aéronautique est un domaine privilégié de la recherche dans lequel l'interface numérique constitue un biais d’innovation important au niveau usage comme technologique. Depuis 2010, Intactile DESIGN a collaboré avec le département R&D d’Airbus à la conception d’interfaces de cockpit : une série d’études ont été menées en co-conception avec les équipes d’ingénieurs, d’ergonomes et de pilotes d’essais du constructeur. Le travail se poursuit actuellement à travers le projet de recherche FENICS et le dispositif IODe.

Certains résultats de ces études ont fait l’objet de dépôts de brevet :

Dispositif de dialogue interactif entre un opérateur d'un aéronef et le système de guidage de l'aéronef – US 20130135202 A1
Le dispositif de dialogue comprend une interaction sur un écran qui représente, d'une part, un élément de lecture indiquant la valeur d'une consigne d'orientation du système de guidage de l'aéronef, et, d'autre part, un élément de commande qui peut être saisi et déplacé le long d'une courbe par un opérateur pour modifier la valeur de la consigne d'orientation.
Thierry Bourret, Nicolas Chauveau, Pascale Louise-Babando, Claire Ollagnon

Dispositifs de dialogue interactif et procédés pour un opérateur d'un aéronef et le système de guidage de l’aéronef – US 20130211635 A1
Les dispositifs de dialogue et les procédés peuvent comprendre une interaction sur un écran qui peut représenter, d'une part, un élément de lecture indiquant la valeur de la cible de guidage du système de guidage de l'aéronef, et, d'autre part, un élément de commande qui peut être saisi, sélectionné et/ou déplacé sur un dispositif d'affichage le long d'un tracé, comme par exemple une courbe, par un opérateur pour modifier la valeur de la cible de guidage.
Thierry Bourret, Nicolas Chauveau, Sebastien Drieux, Sebastien Giuliano, Pascale Louise-Babando, Claire Ollagnon

Procédé et dispositif pour l'affichage des paramètres de vol dans un aéronef – EP 2717019 A1
Le procédé consiste à effectuer un contrôle pour vérifier si le mouvement d'un aéronef est en accord avec la consigne d'orientation relative à un paramètre de vol. Une partie d'une échelle de graduation de vitesse par exemple, à partir de la valeur actuelle du paramètre de vol est affichée dans la direction du mouvement de l'aéronef, si le mouvement de l'aéronef est en accord avec la valeur de consigne d'orientation. L'échelle est déployée dans les deux directions si le mouvement de l'aéronef n'est pas conforme à la valeur de la consigne d'orientation.
Nicolas Chauveau, Pascale Louise, Delphine MacDonald, Fabien Perrin