› Direct access to the VÉgA (Vocabulary of Ancient Egyptian) website

At the end of 2013, Intactile DESIGN began a collaboration of 2 years with the LabEx Archimede (Laboratory of Excellence for Archaeology and History of the Mediterranean and ancient Egypt) supported by the University Paul Valéry Montpellier and rated A+ by the International Assessment LabEx jury.
In this context, Egyptologists of the laboratory (specialized in lexicography) and Intactile DESIGN are jointly conceiving a Vocabulary of Ancient Egyptian (VÉgA), in order to meet a complex challenge: make a digital dictionary to replace reference books published throughout twentieth century, like the great dictionary of the Academy of Berlin (1926-1961).

The objective of the VÉgA is to create an interactive tool allowing to model and represent evolving knowledges in ancient Egyptian, grouping and intersecting words, their attestations, references, their exact spellings in hieroglyphics and pictures of the relative texts. Today, the user have to deal with dozens of articles, books and databases, more or less voluminous and scattered: this tool will allow him to access the information directly and immediately, according to criteria that he has himself chosen. The VÉgA should have several reading levels for each user, from amateur to professional, from student to the comparative linguist.
The global community of Egyptology will be invited to enrich it and carry it through a collaborative scientific work.

› Accéder directement au site du VÉgA - Vocabulaire de l’Égyptien Ancien

Fin 2013, Intactile DESIGN a amorcé une collaboration de 2 ans avec le LabEx Archimede (Archéologie et Histoire de la Méditerranée et de l’Égypte Anciennes) porté par l’Université Paul Valéry Montpellier et classé A+ par le jury international d’évaluation des LabEx.
Dans ce cadre, les égyptologues du laboratoire (spécialisés en lexicographie) et intactile DESIGN élaborent ensemble un Vocabulaire de l’Égyptien Ancien (VÉgA) conçu pour relever un défi : réaliser un dictionnaire numérique destiné à remplacer les livres de référence parus tout au long du XXe siècle, comme le grand dictionnaire de l’Académie de Berlin (1926-1961).

L’objectif du VÉgA est de créer un outil interactif permettant de modéliser et représenter les connaissances évolutives en égyptien ancien, en regroupant et recoupant les mots, leurs attestations, leurs références, leurs graphies exactes en hiéroglyphes et les photographies des textes concernés. Là où, aujourd’hui, l’usager doit faire appel à des dizaines d’articles et d’ouvrages, plus ou moins volumineux et dispersés, cet outil lui permettra d’accéder à l’information directement et immédiatement, selon des critères qu’il aura lui-même défini. Le VÉgA devra posséder plusieurs niveaux de lecture correspondant à chaque utilisateur, de l’amateur au professionnel, de l’étudiant débutant au linguiste comparatiste.
L’ensemble de la communauté mondiale de l’égyptologie sera invitée à l’enrichir, et à effectuer à travers lui un travail scientifique collaboratif.