Design & Research

Design has recently seen itself added to the list of R&D and innovation areas of activity (CIR -CII) drawn up by the ministry responsible for Research. At the same time, design schools and universities are trying to open specialized graduate schools in this discipline. Attitudes are changing and interest for design research is increasing.

The designer weaves links and revives the art of living.

Doing digital design places people at the heart of technological innovation, respects the environment and encourages a better ability to "work together". The design draws its wealth from its usefulness to society. So, there is no design without "expressiveness", without "searching for harmony", without "the ability to challenge our senses." All these qualities allow one to see an industrial digital object as something for the good of humanity that will allow society to change and improve!

In using design industrial art emerges from standardized technology.

Participants in design and research agree on distinguishing two approaches: the research IN design (a reflexive stance on design - for example, the creative process, epistemology, history, product quality, methodology, reception) and research BY design (the contribution by design to industrial and digital production). Some ask questions about the first: is this an oxymoron? If design is praxis and collaborative does it have the methodological and scientific capability to analyse its own creative practices in order to conduct research on itself? But, in fact, don't these skills come from doctoral degree work, regardless of the discipline?

As a digital design company, we find the second position much more interesting. For over 10 years already we have been doing research BY design. We integrate multidisciplinary teams and we carry out our creative craft with researchers and companies that have a high technological potential. We explore usages together and outline visual forms. We constantly implement micro-tests of acceptation for invented digital objects, without hesitating to consult users in different areas.

But perhaps digital interface design applies to a specific area in which there is a need to break the tether of purely conceptual fixed ideas? It must be admitted that the industry finds it difficult to move away from built-in mental habits, inherited reflexes and official practices by relying solely on the historically existing population of engineers and ergonomists.

As technology becomes fluid and there is a convergence between nanotechnology, tangible interfaces and embedded technologies, it seems that there is less obligation to provide a particular form as design is seamless. The more time passes the more display and animation capabilities become closer to human vision; the smaller the equipment becomes and disappears from view; and the more powerful the batteries are. An area of ​​freedom is emerging and it is possible to invent almost anything at the same time that our digital society tracks, records and follows all micro-actions on our computer. The digital designer, as a specialist user of technology, measures, ensures and develops friendly technology which respects basic freedoms and human rights. It creates a de-alienating technology and projects it into the future with the aim of improving our society!

Design

Design, apart from misunderstandings in translation between the Anglo-Saxon meaning of "conception" and the common meaning that we object to in France where it is reduced to aesthetics, is a difficult profession to define as it covers different areas.

However, one point seems to run through all the various steps ranging from object and service design to digital interface design: this is the link that the designer is able to weave between a material, a situation, a technology and the pleasurable use that a human being will have with it. The creative process of design, regardless of the path it takes, is always looking to identify areas of interface between technological potential, whether simple or complex, and the pleasure of using it.

Schéma - design and technology

Man is culture and our companies have extensive technological cultures: so extensive that they are moving away from human nature. The need arises, therefore, to humanize them, to ease their perception and understanding and make them enjoyable and friendly to relate to. Here lies the designer's role - a sort of mediator between different technologies and objects that can be developed from them. Not only does it endow the objects produced with a certain aesthetic, it gives them a place in our lives. It will bring out a person’s desires, essential to make an object, action or interaction pleasant. For if man loves to surround himself with different technologies that increase his knowledge and ability, he dislikes that which is inappropriate, incomprehensible or meaningless.

Design attempts to forge the link of pleasure, confidence and efficiency between technological objects and its users. It works through creative synthesis to end up with objects that strike a chord with custom and culture.

Publications

CARE INO II - 2004-06
Research program funded by EUROCONTROL in partnership with IntuiLab

Subject: How to improve the efficiency and safety of air traffic control user interfaces with animated visual and audio design.

In recent years, the development of tools for air traffic control has been widely regarded as a task for ATC experts, software engineers and human factors specialists. However, times have changed for the computer industry. Today, thousands of designers work on interactive software for cars, aircraft cockpits, office systems or games because they contribute towards making the systems more efficient and easier to use.

2004 EUROCONTROL publication

Digital design, between intimate space and demonstration
Intelligence Collective - Rencontres 2006
Authors: Emmanuelle Jacques, Sandra Solinski, Claire Ollagon, Yves Rinato

Book cover 'Intelligence Collective - Rencontres 2006'

Subject: The collaborative dimension in the design process of socio-technical devices. In this collective communication space, we look at how designers present their ideas: How do they make them communicable? What cognitive tools are brought to use to explain and build the concept? We question here the different areas of interaction where the interfaces are conceived and become part of the interface system between designers and users.

Download the article as a PDF (466 Ko)

Differentiated visual transitions: principles and applications
Actes d’IHM 2006 ACM Press
Authors: Céline Schlienger, Pierre Dragicevic, Claire Ollagnon, Stéphane Chatty

Examples of animated transitions

Subject: To provide support for animation design in graphic interfaces we introduce and define the concept of visual transition. We then use this descriptive model to introduce a new animation technique: differentiated visual transitions, which allow conveying information by exploiting visual transitions.

Research partners

Design & Recherche

Le design est récemment entré dans la liste des champ d'activité de R&D et d’innovation (CIR-CII) du ministère chargé de la Recherche. Parallèlement, les écoles et les universités de design tentent actuellement d’ouvrir des écoles doctorales spécialisées dans cette discipline. Les mentalités évoluent et l’intérêt de la recherche pour le design s’accroit de plus en plus.

Le designer est un tisseur de liens, un éveilleur à l’art de vivre…

Faire du design numérique, c’est poser l’humain au cœur de l’innovation technologique, respecter l’environnement et inciter à une meilleure capacité de « travailler ensemble ». Le design puise sa richesse dans son utilité sociale. Ainsi il n’y pas de design sans « expressivité », sans « recherche d’harmonie », sans « capacité à interpeller les sens ». Toutes ces qualités permettent de penser l’objet numérique industriel pour le bien de l’humanité pour que notre société change et s’améliore !

De la technologie standardisée émerge, avec le design, un art industriel.

Les acteurs du design et de la recherche s’accordent à bien différencier deux postures : celle de la recherche EN design (posture réflexive sur le design par exemple, processus de création, épistémologie, histoire, qualité produit, méthodologie, réception) et celle de la recherche PAR le design (apport du design aux productions industrielles et numériques). Certains s’interrogent sur la première : relève-t-elle de l’oxymore ? Le design étant praxis et collaboratif, possède-t-il les capacités méthodologiques scientifiques d’analyse de ses pratiques créatives pour faire de la recherche sur lui-même ? Mais ces capacités ne relèvent-elles pas justement du travail de thèse, quelle que soit la discipline ?

En tant que société en design numérique, la seconde posture nous intéresse beaucoup plus. Voilà déjà plus de 10 ans que nous faisons de la recherche PAR le design. Nous intégrons des équipes pluridisciplinaires et nous pratiquons notre métier de créatifs avec des chercheurs et des sociétés au fort potentiel technologique. Nous explorons conjointement des usages, leur esquissons des formes visuelles. Nous mettons constamment en œuvre des micro-tests d’appropriation des objets numériques inventés, n’hésitant pas à consulter des utilisateurs sur des domaines différents.

Mais peut-être le design d’interface numérique se déploie-t-il sur un espace particulier dans lequel le besoin de briser des carcans purement conceptuels est nécessaire ? Il faut reconnaître que l’industrie arrive mal à se détacher des formatages mentaux acquis, des réflexes hérités, des usages bureautiques, en s’appuyant uniquement sur la population ingénieur et ergonome historiquement en place.

Alors que la technologie devient fluide, qu’il y a une convergence entre les nanotechnologies, les interfaces tangibles et les technologies incorporées, il semble qu’il y ait de moins en moins d’obligation à présenter une forme particulière puisque le design est seamless. Plus le temps passe, plus les capacités d’affichage et d’animation sont proches de la vision humaine ; plus le matériel se miniaturise et disparaît ; plus les batteries sont puissantes. Un espace de liberté émerge et il est quasiment possible d’inventer n’importe quoi en même temps que notre société numérique, trace, enregistre, suit tous les micro-gestes posés sur notre ordinateur. Le designer numérique en tant que spécialiste des usages et de la technologie, mesure, garantit et développe une technologie respectueuse des libertés et des droits de l’homme. Il crée une technologie désaliénante et projette cette technologie dans l’avenir dans l’objectif d’améliorer notre société !

Design

Le design, outre les malentendus de traduction entre le sens anglo-saxon de « conception » et le sens commun réduit à l’esthétique que l’on déplore en France, est une discipline assez difficile à définir tant elle touche à des domaines différents.

Cependant, un point semble se retrouver dans l’ensemble des diverses démarches allant du design d’objet, de service, au design d’interface numérique : c’est le lien que le designer est capable de tisser entre un matériau, une situation, une technologie, et l’usage que l’être humain aurait du plaisir à en tirer. La démarche créative du design, quel que soit le chemin qu’elle emprunte, recherche toujours à identifier des zones de rencontre entre un potentiel technologique, qu’il soit simple ou complexe, et un plaisir d’usage.

Schéma - design & technologie

L’homme est culture et nos sociétés possèdent des cultures technologiques poussées. Tellement poussées, que celles-ci s’éloignent de notre nature humaine. Le besoin naît alors de les humaniser, de faciliter leur perception, leur compréhension, de les rendre aimables et agréables à fréquenter. C’est ici que se situe le rôle du designer, sorte de médiateur entre les technologies et les objets que l’on peut développer à partir d’elles. Il n’apporte pas uniquement de l’esthétique aux objets produits, il leur donne une place dans nos vies. Il va puiser au sein de l’être humain ses envies, les essentiels qui lui rendraient tel objet, telle action, telle interaction agréable. Car, si l’homme adore s’entourer de technologies qui augmentent sa connaissance et ses capacités, il a horreur de ce qui est inopportun, incompréhensible ou dénué de sens.

Le design tente de tisser le lien de plaisir, de confiance et d’efficience entre les objets technologiques et ses utilisateurs. Il fait œuvre de synthèse créative pour aboutir à des objets qui entrent en résonance avec les usages et les cultures.

Publications

CARE INO II - 2004-06
Programme de recherche financé par EUROCONTROL et réalisé en partenariat avec IntuiLab

Sujet : Comment améliorer l'efficacité et la sécurité des interfaces utilisateurs de contrôle aérien avec du design d’animation visuelle et sonore

Au cours des dernières années, le développement d'outils pour le contrôle du trafic aérien a été considéré par tous comme une tâche pour les experts de l'ATC, les ingénieurs logiciels et spécialistes des facteurs humains. Cependant, les temps ont changé pour l'industrie informatique. Aujourd'hui, des milliers de designers travaillent sur des logiciels interactifs pour les voitures, les cockpits d'avions, les systèmes de bureau ou de jeux, car ils contribuent à rendre les systèmes plus efficaces et plus faciles à utiliser.

Publication EUROCONTROL 2004

La conception numérique, entre espace intime et monstration
Intelligence Collective - Rencontres 2006
Auteurs : Emmanuelle Jacques, Sandra Solinski, Claire Ollagnon, Yves Rinato

Couverture de livre 'Intelligence Collective - Rencontres 2006'

Sujet : La dimension collaborative dans le processus de conception de dispositifs sociotechniques. Dans cet espace de communication qu’est un collectif, nous avons regardé comment les concepteurs exposent leurs idées, comment les rendent-ils communicables ? Quels outils cognitifs sont convoqués afin d’expliciter et construire le concept ? Nous interrogeons ici les différents espaces d’interactions où les interfaces prennent naissance et deviennent un élément du système de rencontre entre concepteurs et usagers.

Télécharger l’article en version PDF (466 Ko)

Les transitions visuelles différenciées : principes et applications
Actes d'IHM 2006 ACM Press
Auteurs : Céline Schlienger, Pierre Dragicevic, Claire Ollagnon, Stéphane Chatty

Exemples de transitions animées

Sujet : Pour servir de support à la conception d’animations dans les interfaces graphiques, nous introduisons et nous définissons le concept de transition visuelle. Nous utilisons ensuite ce modèle descriptif pour introduire une nouvelle technique d’animation : les transitions visuelles différenciées, qui permettent de véhiculer de l’information en jouant sur les transitions visuelles.

Partenaires de recherche

UM2 - Univertsité Montpellier 2 ENSCI - École Nationale Supérieure de Création Industrielle CNRS - Centre Nationale de la Recherche Scientifique UNîmes - Université de Nîmes ENAC - École Nationale de l'Aviation Civile UM3 - Univertsité Paul-Valéry Montpellier 3 FOI - Agence de recherche en défense Suédoise